Home

50mm vs 85mm Reddit

Shop Sigma Lenses at B&H - Save on Sigma Lenses at B&

High-End Used Camera Lenses At Unbeatable Values. Up To 40% Off Retail Prices. Check Out Our Wide Variety Of Available Lenses Now What Do We Do? We Buy, Test, and Write Reviews. We Make Shopping Quick and Easy. We Provide Expert Tips and Advice To Help Make Shopping Quick and Easy

Special Deals · Sell & Buy Camera Gear · 180-Day Warrant

  1. g while compressing all the facial features into a very flattering look and throwing out the background. 50mm is fine for half body portraits in my opinion, and honestly I've done upper body portraits that look great at 35mm
  2. g the subject fills the same amount of the frame. Keep in
  3. 85mm tends to be the traditionally recommended portrait lens. There are pros and cons to each. Working distance being a factor, a 50mm you can work in a smaller space. If the aesthetic of the images are most important then the 85mm provides what many consider better Depth of Field and Bokeh when shooting wide apertures
  4. Search all of Reddit. Log In Sign Up. User account menu. 15. 85mm 1.4 vs 50mm 1.4 vs 35mm 1.4. Close. 15. Posted by 9 years ago. Archived. 85mm 1.4 vs 50mm 1.4 vs 35mm 1.4. Ive read a lot of different articles talking about the 50mm lens being THE lens for street photography and can double as a portrait lens. Why dont the 35mm 1.4 or 85mm 1.4.

50mm (75mm equivalent) → Much better for portraits but worse when you don't have a lot of room to step back. 85mm (equivalent) is a popular length for shooting because it flattens features without requiring you to stand too far away. Waist up if you shoot from 2m away. TBH they are both great. 50mm and 85mm are very popular focal lengths on FX The bokeh effect on the 85mm f/1.8 is better than on the 50mm f/1.8. (Because of the extra focal length as well as the number of shutter blades) I do not own the 85mm lens (yet), but from what I read, seen and take photos of my 3 years old daughter with the telephoto zoom lens, I personally like the longer range (from 70mm to 100mm) when taking.

スギッチ。 — モデル 園田みく(@miku2017makeup) カメラ Nikon D800+TAMRONPhoto 234: Wolverine vs The Hulk! (I remember this being

35mm vs. 50mm vs. 85mm | A Comparison Guide. A 35mm lens is perfect for taking landscape shots as they provide you with a wider angle. Whereas, if you are looking to take more portraits, 50mm is better for you as it has greater focal features. If you want to capture your subject in a larger than life form, 85mm is best for you as it provides. Take a look. In this video, Julia compares the following lenses using her Canon 5D MkIII: Sigma 24mm f1.4. Canon 35mm f1.4. Canon 50mm f1.2. Canon 85mm f1.2. Canon 135mm f2. Julia first tests the lenses shooting full body photos with her model, Maralyn, from the same standing position to show how much background compression each lens shows, as. Significant is a word I would use to describe the Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM and Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM; in aperture, in weight, in prestige and price.That last metric, price, is the most significantly disparate factor when we compare these ultra-fast lenses against their sibling lenses of equal focal length Zoom vs. Prime Lenses. When we were starting off buying new lenses, we battled the question of why should I buy an 85mm lens when we could just get a 70-200mm lens? As owners of both prime and zoom lenses, we can say that there is a time and place for both options. Prime lenses, in general, will be more specialized

Your Favorite Used 50mm Lenses - Shop Limited-Stock Lense

35mm vs. 50mm vs. 85mm Focal Length for Portrait Photography Excuse the dopey smile, I had just woken up. Focal lengths are a powerful tool in photography and their effects run much deeper than just determining how much of a scene ends up in our photographs The 50mm Prime Lens - for Quality on a Budget. The 50mm can also be a useful lens, especially if you don't have a zoom. This lens is good for shooting food top-down and for tablescapes. The 50mm f/1.8 is often referred to as the nifty-fifty because it gives you decent results for a very low price. If you're just starting out and your budget is tight, get this Tough call! I love my 50mm 1.4 on my crop but have heard and read that the 85mm is a great lens too. The 50mm should suit your short term plans and won't be useless if you go FF in the future, after all it is a 'standard' lens on a FF. As Phil says, it kind of depends how you shoot and what you are trying to achieve 24mm shows off the background. When it comes to photographing people, a 50mm lens emphasizes the subject, whereas a 24mm lens shows the environment. Image taken with a Canon 60D and a 50mm lens. That's why a 50mm lens is great for head and shoulders portraits, while a 24mm lens is great for photographing people in the context of their.

Sony SEL50F14Z Planar T FE 50mm f/1.4 ZA - Outstanding sharpness from corner to corner, the Planar T FE 50mm f/1.4 ZA is a lens that delivers stunning results. 35mm vs 50mm on Crop Sensor Cameras Caption: This crop sensor camera has a 23mm lens, equivalent to a 35mm field of view It is with these on crop sensors, we get a field of view similar to the 50mm. 30mm conditionally turns into 45mm (or 48mm on Canon) 30mm x 1.5 = 45mm. 30mm x 1.6 = 48mm. 35mm conditionally turns into 53mm (or 56mm on Canon) 35mm x 1.5 = 53mm. 35mm x 1.6 = 56mm. Refer to this table of equivalent focal lengths for common lenses and crop factors Comparing my portraits using the 50 1.8 vs the 135 2.0 is almost not fair, (aside from the L) the 135 shots just look so much better. So, to answer your question, the 85 would be the best of the two, but if you can spend a bit more for the 70-200 F4L (non IS is about $550) then that would be your better choice. Comment A 50 mm lens sets you up for the classic portrait shot, and the Canon RF 50mm F1.2L USM is a top-level professional-caliber lens that's got pretty much everything the RF 85mm F1.2 L USM has. The difference you'll notice with the 50mm lens is what gets into the shot and how close you can get to your subject Okay, this is a 50mm f/1.8 lens that costs nearly $600. Usually, you could buy three nifty fifty's for that much, or more. You can probably still find AF or AF-D 50mm f/1.8's on sale used for about $100, actually, that work just fine on a D750 or D850

Canon 50mm - We Reviewed Every Mode

Nikon Z50: 50mm vs. 85mm prime Jul 5, 2020 1 Come and ask us (almost) anything on Reddit Jun 29, 2021 Hands-on with Nikon's NIKKOR Z 28mm F2.8 Special Edition Jun 29, 2021 Nikon Z fc Initial Review Jun 29, 2021. Greg, I'm sorry I don't agree with you. What your saying is, is that it isn't a head-shot lens, which I do agree. I shoot 40 weddings a year and 95% of all my shots, including the bride groom 'portraits' are shot on a 35mm (1.4) or 50mm (1.4), that is on D3s bodies. 50mm or 35 are the perfect portrait lenses to incorporate parts of the person or people's surroundings A 50mm prime lens (also called a fixed focal length lens) is a must-have piece of equipment for anyone starting out in photography. It's versatile, affordable and great for shooting all types of photos. In this blog, I will outline the benefits of a 50mm lens and why you should invest in one

In this review, I'll compare the two 50mm f/1.4 lenses for L-Mount cameras: Panasonic Lumix 50mm f/1.4 and Sigma ART 50mm f/1.4. Which is the better lens?.. The 50 1.8s is a serious tool. More of a hefty fifty than a nifty fifty. View: original size. In terms of image quality, the new lens definitely has the good stuff. It`s sharper, the bokeh is creamier and it has more contrast and punch. All in all, more of that 3D quality we all like. But the 50mm 1.8g is not bad at all 35mm is 1.5 times the size of APS-C. SOOO your Nikon (or soon to be) will have a sensor that is 1.5 times less than the size of a 35mm neg space. All this means is that you will take the focal length of each lens and multiply that by 1.5. 35mm * 1.5 = 52.5mm. 50mm * 1.5 = 75.0mm. 85mm * 1.5 = 127.5mm Which focal length should you get for street photography - 28mm, 35mm or 50mm? Is the 50mm classic for a reason? Is the 28mm too wide? Or is the 35mm the per..

85mm vs 50mm — here are my unedited photos.One lens is more versatile. One lens is a must for any type of photographer. Time to compare: 85mm vs 50mm Get the 85mm f1.8 for half-body and head shots, you will not regret with it's result. For full body shots, either you use your leg zoom or get the cheapo budget 50mm f1.8. Or you shouldn't be bothered about the 50mm and the full-body shots since it's not your main interest. just my 2 cents The 50mm lens is a standard, go-to, all-around lens. And while the Fisheye lens brings a lot of whimsy and fun to my travel pictures, some scenes just don't call for that. I've heard it said that the 50mm is the closest representation to what we see naturally with our eyes. This lens is my best choice of the three options for Canon 50mm lenses Trotti photographed the same model using her Canon 5D Mark III and every prime lens she owns: a Sigma 24mm f/1.4, Canon 35mm f/1.4, Canon 50mm f/1.2, Canon 85mm f/1.2, and Canon 135mm f/2 Nonetheless, I will use the telephoto-zoom to compare against the primes. Nikkor AF-S 24-85mm f3.5-4.5G VR - 16 elements (1 ED + 3 Asph) Nikkor AF 70-210mm f4-5.6D - 12 elements. Nikkor AF 35mm f2D - 6 elements. Zeiss Planar 50mm f1.4 ZF.2 - 7 crystal elements

Why is an 85mm lens used more than a 50mm lens - reddi

2. maximum focal length. 50mm. 85mm. A longer maximum focal length allows you to focus in on a small part of a scene, and offers a narrower angle of view than shorter focal lengths. 3. Has a metal mount. Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 STM. Canon RF 85mm f/2 Macro IS STM. A metal mount is generally superior to a plastic mount as it is more durable Jan 29, 2017. #4. Well, the 35mm will show more background behind the subject that the 50mm or the 85mm; the 85mm will be much more of a selective-angle type lens, whoich will tend to throw the backdrop more out of focus than the 50, and much more OOF than the 35mm. On a crop-frame Canon, I think you might actualkly like the 85mm for shooting. Portrait photographer Julia Trotti recently put together a useful comparison video for beginners where she captures portraits using a crop-sensor camera and her most-used prime lenses: a 24mm, 35mm, 50mm, 85mm and 135mm. Plenty of people have done comparisons like this using full-frame cameras and, in fact, Trotti did that comparison first.But after publishing that video, the most common. Field of View. There is some conjecture on whether it is the 35mm lens or the 50mm lens that closest approximates the field of view of the Mark 1 Mod 0 human eyeball—minus the peripheral vision. If you do the math, the circa 45° field of view of the 50mm lens is a bit narrower than the approximated 55° cone of visual attention and the 35mm. Best Click In 2019 Clicked With Nikon D750, 85mm, 50mm, 14mm Please Must Watch Till End, Subscribe & Hit the Bell Icon For More Updates. THANK YO

Full body portraits50mm 1

Keep in mind that sensor size will affect the effective angle of view captured. A 35mm lens mounted on an APSC camera with a 1.5x crop factor, for example, will have an equivalent focal length of 52.5mm. A 50mm lens will have an equivalent focal length of 75mm. While the 85mm on APSC camera will be equivalent to 127.5mm Of course one could buy the Voigtlander Nokton 50mm f/1.1, or the Nikkor 50mm f/1.2, a Canon FD 50mm f/1.2 or maybe even a Leica Noctilux 50mm f/0.95 (at 8000$ its a real bargain..!!! /sarcasm) What I stumbled upon was a great gem of a lens the Minolta Rokkor MD 50mm f/1.2 The Milvus 85mm is nearly 3 ½ times heavier than the little Rokinon 50mm f/1.2, and the Rokinon 21mm f/1.4 is 2 ¾ times lighter than the new Canon 35mm f/1.4L II. It is very interesting to see a visual comparison between the massive Canon EF 50mm f/1.0L and the svelte little Rokinon 50mm f/1.2 The Milvus 50 vs. the Zeiss Competition. Ahh, now things get interesting. I've now reviewed four different current Zeiss 50mm options, plus I've owned and reviewed the older Planar T* 1.7/50mm. I've mentioned the Otus 1.4/55mm and the classic Planar T* 1.4/50mm, but there is a third option that is a little more of a direct competitor. Tamron 70-180mm f2.8 vs Sony FE 85mm f1.8 10 months ago Tamron is not out yet but in theory, which one would you use for portrait photography? a7 III Sony E 10-18mm F4 OSS Sony FE 50mm F1.8 +2 more. Sony a7 III Sony FE 85mm F1.8 Tamron 70-180mm F2.8 Di III VXD. Reply to thread.

Nikon recently announced its first native macro lenses for its Z mount cameras: the Nikkor Z MC 105mm F2.8 VR S and the Z MC 50mm F2.8. Going forward, 'MC' is going to be Nikon's designation for lenses that are macro-capable. Nikon is, as expected, touting both primes as excellent for close-ups at 1:1 magnification, but the 105mm is sure to find a home in many a portrait shooter's bag and the. f/1.4 AI. 18 - 200mm VR. 55mm Micro. Index of individual test pages. Top of 50mm comparison. Sharpness. This page has the least to do with lens performance. These lenses are almost identical in sharpness. Amateurs run to this page first, even though it's the least significant 35mm vs 50mm or 35-50mm? One of the most popular questions among newbies is Why should I choose a lens with one focal length, if I can buy a zoom that covers them all and even more? Fixed is a lens with a fixed focal length. For example, 50mm, 35mm, etc. Zoom is a lens with a variable focal length. For example, 24-70mm, 17-55mm and others p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · FS: PRICE DROP - Nikon D810, 50mm/1.4D, 85mm/1.8G You might want to apply a little research on the price of the 50mm f/1.4D as well. This is intended as advice to help sell the lens, not as a slam

The 50mm lens is the closest to the focal component of the human eye. 50mm is what the human eye sees as a sharp field of view. We are immediately used to it as we effectively use a 50mm every day, all day. The Canon50mm f/1.8 STM is one of the cheapest great lenses around, especially for the speed. This lens gives you a better depth of field. The 50mm F/1.8 Longnose was the brainchild of Mr. Souichi Nakamura, Nikon's most celebrated lens designer and the creator of many Nikon optical designs still in use today. And it's a lens that was created to disrupt the market. The legacy of the 50mm F/1.8 stems from the 50mm f2 way back in 1959

is the 50mm 1.8 better or the 85mm 1.8 for portrait? - reddi

Which one is better the Nikon 35mm vs 50mm 1.8G DX Lens? In this video I give you my HONEST opinion about these two lenses.Check out the Nikon 35mm 1.8G DX.. The L-Mount has a few great portrait options — including Sigma's 85mm and 105mm F1.4 Art lenses, although these are not mirrorless-specific — but the image quality coming from the Panasonic. Fastest focusing 50mm lens I have owned yet. On par with the 85mm FE f/1.8 that I love. And like the 85mm I could ask for no better. This shot was taken from the passenger seat at speed. Size and weight. Quite smaller than the 50mm f/1.4. Comparable in size to the FE 50mm, but much better build quality Price: The cheapest of the bunch is the Sigma 85mm f/1.4 Art - almost $400 (25%) cheaper than the most expensive lens in our list. If the price is your concern, go with the 85mm and you will be happy. Buying the 105mm f/1.4 Art might not give you 25% better images. Comparing the Sigma prices to Canon and Nikon equivalent lenses, you can. The Canon 50mm f/1.4 is a step up from the f/1.8, offering multiple improvements at a higher price. It has a silent USM motor that you hardly hear when focusing. It is sharper than the f/1.8 at the same aperture, and the extra one stoplight is a nice bonus. The larger hole comes handy when shooting in low light conditions

85mm 1.4 vs 50mm 1.4 vs 35mm 1.4 : photograph

The 50mm f/1.4 is one of the better known of the great Hexanons, and is a good place to start showing some of the reasons why this long-defunct optical tradition deserved a much better fate. If you have ever handled Hexanon lenses you may relate to this: they scream progressive rock-and-roll era. The heft, the colors, the materials, the shape. The Nikon AF-S Nikkor 85mm f/1.8G lens is completely compatible with the Nikon D5300 DX-format DSLR camera and is ideal for portraiture, weddings and concerts. When used with a DX-format camera this lens has an effective field of view of 127mm. This 85mm lens is an AF-S type of lens which means it uses a Silent Wave motor (SWM) for focusing.

If you want to make less of a show of grabbing a few snaps of a dish while being seated at a restaurant, the 40mm's wider focal length and minimum focusing distance of 0.3m (11.8″) - compared to 0.45m (17.7″) on the 50mm f/1.8 - is perfect for capturing what is immediately in front of you without having to stand up and fuss with angles The medium telephoto 135mm prime lens is a handy tool for both portraiture and for shooting fast action, albeit by taking a few steps back. The 135mm prime does offer just the right focal length to be equally useful for both needs, though some would feel that being in the middle ground it suffers from the lack of optical reach as the 200mm or the maximum angle of view as the 50mm prime

First prime lense 35mm vs 50mm? : Nikon - reddit

The 16-85mm is an internally focusing lens, so the front element doesn't rotate during zoom or focus. Close focus is an adequate 1.2' (.38m), giving a maximum reproduction ratio of about 1:4.6. The lens design features both aspherical elements for optical corrections and ED glass for better chromatic aberration handling 85mm F/1.8 for Canon. $179.99. A highly practical 85mm medium telephoto prime lens ideal for a range of applications including portrait photography. F1.8 large aperture, which makes it the professional's choice for shooting without flash in low light conditions and provides fine control over depth of field. Support auto focus (AF) and manual.

85mm vs 50mm? ThePhotoForum: Film & Digital Photography

The 50mm 1.4 or 1.8 and the 85mm 1.8 are all reasonably priced, entry-level lenses that can produce fantastic results. Both Canon and Nikon have these lenses in their respective line-ups. So which one to choose? It Depends. Just like everything in Life, it depends on the situation. In my opinion, the 50mm is going to work better on a cropped. As I never tire of saying, I've never had any front / back focus issues with any Sigma lenses. I have Siggy 50mm and 85mm f1.4's and they're both good, the 85 being the best of the two but it's more expensive than the Canon 85mm f1.8 but personally I wouldn't touch that lens because of the shape of the bokeh Indoor = lack of space = 50mm better than 85mm. Outdoor = Open space = 85mm because of better bokeh qualities and some say sharpness. My 50 1.4 is sharp from 1.4 without halation or much CA Nikon prides itself on the AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G lens's background blur - and they should. For its price, the NIKKOR 50mm does an excellent job of capturing light and delivering a natural depth of field. Perfect Portrait Lenses 85mm lenses. Most professional portrait photographers swear by the fact that 85mm is the perfect lens size for. I'm not judging for trophy quality of animals so I don't need an 85mm but I would like a better view than binoculars and it will certainly help when looking over terrain for deer. Anyway just looking for suggestions on whether I should go with a 50mm or 65mm scope currently looking at Vortex Razors and whatever alpha glass I can find used at a.

I've shot some test images with the 50mm RF 1.8, the 50 EF RF 1.8 - the latest 2015 updated version- and the 85mm EF 1.8. I've added the 85mm to show you want the out of focus parts and bokeh of the image looks. The 85mm also has a lot off issues with purple fringing, another reason to include the lens in the test set Popular prime lenses for portrait photography include 50mm and 85mm when shooting close-ups, or 24mm and 35mm when shooting full length. One of the most common zoom lenses for portraiture is the 70-200mm. When considering what lens to use for portraits, remember that wide-angle lenses can cause distortion and almost caricature-like results. Nikon AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8D Lens. No matter what brand you shoot with, the nifty 50 for your camera is realistically the first lens everyone should pick up.Why? it's one of the best lenses you can get for under $150! And when paired on a crop sensor camera it'll give you something closer to a75-85mm field of view (an awesome focal length for portraits) A final prime lens recommendation I'd make is the 85mm. Though these lenses aren't as versatile as a 35mm or 50mm, if you take portraits, it's hard to find anything better. The 85mm focal length is ideal for portraits for a variety of reasons. First, this focal length allows you to fill the frame with your subject without being right up in.

35mm vs. 50mm vs. 85mm A Comparison Guide - Gadget Infinit

Review Jean Pascal September 18, 2020 fuji x-h1, fuji 50mm f/1.0, Canon 85mm f/1.2 vs Fuji 56mm f/1.2 Facebook 0 Twitter LinkedIn 0 Reddit Tumblr Pinterest 0 0 Likes Previou The Canon 50mm f/1.0L works on all EF mount camera systems, and uses the Focus-by-Wire system found on the Canon 85mm f/1.2L II, meaning while accurate, the focus is slower when comparing it to more modern designs. Priced at ~$2,500 during the majority of its production run, the Canon 50mm f/1.0L was considered way too expensive for the average.

Also, the 50mm lens limits light collection at max zoom. I'm currently saving up to purchase a larger HD scope so I can size up bucks that are a mile or three away. I'm looking at the Vortex Razor line and I'd like some opinions about whether I should go for the 65mm or 85mm scope? I'm leaning towards the 85mm, because I feel like the 65mm is. The Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM lens is the oldest piece of kit in my work camera bag. As I get ready to upgrade all of my gear, I thought a lifetime review was in order. I purchased this lens a very. I don't own EF 50mm f/1.0L so I can't compare the bokeh quality ~ but comparing EF 85mm f/1.2L II with EF 200mm f/2L IS - I think EF 200mm f/2L IS produce more smooth bokeh. In photography, both DOF and bokeh are important, although for most cases (not all cases) the first priority should be DOF then bokeh (in my opinion) In this video, I compare 35mm vs 50mm lens on a crop sensor aps-c camera (Sony A6000) and answer the question - what is the best focal length for portraits?D..

Prime Lens Comparison - 24mm vs 35mm vs 50mm vs 85mm vs 135m

スギッチ。 — モデル めろD(@meloD15meloD) カメラ SONY α7ⅱ+Petzval 85mm

Are Canon's Ultra-fast 50mm F/1

The f 1.8 D is the older edition of the 50mm 1.8 Nikon lens, while the G is a newer, more updated version. There are plenty of similarities, including a 1.8 aperture and 50mm focal length. But the G model provides sharper images with faster speeds. This article will compare the similarities and differences of the Nikon 50mm 1.8D vs 1.8G lenses Uploaded by dcamera on at 12:30 pm. 35mm vs 50mm vs 85mm Lens Comparison for Portrait Photography. I am really excited to bring you this instructional photography tutorial! I am demonstrating the differences between three popular fixed focal lengths: a 35mm, 50mm, and 85mm. I begin with side-by-side differences with the same pose ZEISS Milvus 50mm f/1.4 ZE lens. Just because the Zeiss Planar gets you some really great 3D images for a smaller price, that doesn't mean the Milvus series isn't a great choice. The Zeiss Milvus 50mm f/1.4 is a really sharp lens, and the cheapest of the Milvus lenses. A go-to if you want really sharp photography Xeen 35mm ($1599) vs Canon 35mm T1.5 ($3607) Play XEEN 35mm Lens Review We are testing the ‎XEEN‬ 14mm and 35mm lenses with the Canon CN-E, Zeiss CP.2, and our Cooke S4 lenses